Tuesday, 13 February 2018

EBBA Black & Whit Logo                            Logo Utrecht Brass

The European Brass Band Association is pleased to announce the line up of bands for the 41st European Brass Band Championships which will be held in Utrecht, Netherlands. 

A total of 17 bands, in both the Championship Section and Challenge Section, will enter the stage in TivoliVredenburg for what promises to be a fantastic contest. With Brass Band Fröschl Hall from Austria making its debut in the Championship Section and reigning champion Eikanger-Bjørsvik Musikklag in a line-up that also includes Cory and current British Open Champion Valaisia Brass Band, it promises to be an exciting EBBC. Home band De Wâldsang will make its 20th appearance at the EBBC and will be joined by Fairey, Whitburn, Stavanger (qualified as the second Norwegian band), Hauts-de-France, 3BA, Willebroek and Concord, so the audience will again be spoiled by the finest bands in world. 

The Challenge Section will see five bands taking part. Italian Brass Band will defend its title and will compete along with bands from Germany, Sweden, Lithuania and Northern Ireland. 

EBBA President Ulf Rosenberg commented: 

“It’s great to see that the brass band movement in Europe is still developing with new bands coming in the Challenge Section. Further on, we are proud to have such a strong line-up in the Championship Section and looking forward to all the performances from both the set-test- and own choice pieces.” 

The 5th European Youth Brass Band Contest (EYBBC) will see four bands in the Development Section and five in the Premier Section. The Premier Section will definitely have a new winner, as reigning champion Young Brass Band Willebroek has decided not to compete in Utrecht. The EYBBC will see three bands entering for the first time; Tasta Skolekorps from Norway, Catch Bassin Brass Band from Austria and Seindorf Beaumaris Youth Brass Band from Wales will make their debuts in the contest, which will take place on Sunday 6 May in TivoliVredenburg. 

The full line-up is: 

Championship Section

3BA Concert Band Thomas Ludescher Germany
Brass Band Fröschl Hall Corsin Tuor Austria
Brass Band Willebroek Frans Violet Belgium
Concord Brass Band Jesper Juul Windahl Denmark
Cory Philip Harper Wales
De Wâldsang Rieks van der Velde Netherlands
Eikanger-Bjørsvik Musiklag (def. champion)  Ingar H. Bergby Norway
Fairey Band Garry E. Cutt England
Hauts-de-France Brass Band Luc Vertommen France
Stavanger Brass Band Allan Withington Norway
Valaisia Brass Band Arsène Duc Switzerland
Whitburn Band Prof. Nicholas Childs   Scotland


Challenge Section

Badische Brass Band Dominik M. Koch Germany
Göta Brass Michael Thomson Sweden
Italian Brass Band (def. champion)                Filippo Cangiamila     Italy
Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band Stephen Crooks Northern Ireland
Sunday Brass Tadas Sileika Lithuania


European Youth Brass Band Contest

Development Section

Brass Band Aukštyn  Piet Visser Lithuania
Elland Silver Youth Band (def. champion)      Samantha Harrison     England
Tasta Skolekorps Morten Øvrebekk Norway
Wardle Academy Youth Band Lee Rigg England


Premier Section

Brass Band Berner Oberland Junior Jan Müller Switzerland
Catch Bassin Brass Band Andreas Lackner        Austria
Danish Youth Brass Band Stig Mærsk Denmark
Seindorf Beaumaris Youth Brass Band           Gwyn M. Evans Wales
Youth Brass 2000 Chris Jeans England
Return to previous page