Friday, 1 May 2009

Thirteen Entries were submitted for the 1st round. The Jury: Jan Van der Roost, Jan de Haan and Philip Wilby, elected the following four composers and works for the final in the Kursaal, Oostende on April 30th.

The Adjudicators for the European Composers Competition Final was Jan Van der Roost (B) Rob Goorhuis (NL) Ray Farr (UK)

Bertrand Moren from Switzerland - Visions - Winner

Winner composers comp - 20090430225337.jpg

Ludovic Neurohr from Switzerland - Whril - 2nd Place

Kevin Houben from Belgium - Rain - 3rd Place - Audience Prize & Performers Choice
Sponsored by The Music Company (UK) Ltd
 - 20090508133123.jpg

4th place - Valdas Stanaitis from Lithuania - E-Motion

 - 20090508132938.jpg
L to R - Valdis Stanaitis, Bertrand Moren, Ulf Rosenberg, Kevin Huben, and Ludovic Neurohr


Valdas Stanaitis, Lithuania


 It is just one letter that makes the title of composition E-MOTION different from the word EMOTION. The composition is about the interaction between these two phenomena.

Many common things such as mail, bank, music, cinema have already become a concurrent of today's e-world. E-space becomes more and more popular place for meeting friends, getting to know new people. In a sense, e-possibilities made us closer to each other, or maybe on the contrary, they made us more distant from the communication without sign „-„.

Can emotions transformed into sounds, signs, e-motions still be expressed?

Ludovic Neurohr, Switzerland


 Whirl is a kind of natural disaster. The piece describes the progress of a whirlwind with his moments of destruction and its moments of peace and wait.
The main subject thrown by the low register meets itself throughout the piece, from cornets to trombones, horns to euphoniums and soloists. The various sequences can be interpreted as variations on the same subject.

Kevin Houben, Belgium


 "Rain" gives voice to the large battle that took place on January 24th 1597 on the "Thielsche

Heyde". It is an original composition for brassband that builds from a three-tone sequence. In the mysterious opening of the work, the main theme is introduced in scattered pieces and changing orchestrations. Its melodic line is founded on a harmonisation of the three-tone sequence, which later returns in the forefront in ritmical, melodical and harmonical variations. "Rain" is composed of four interlaced parts. After a slow opening and two parts with contrasting tempi, "Rain" culminates in an up tempo finale that resumes the three-tone sequence and its overlying melodic line in a spectacular choral.

 Bertrand Moren, Switzerland


When falling asleep, daydreaming or simply letting our minds wander, it is not uncommon to see images come floating before our eyes. The experience of these "visions", which can be as diverse as they are intriguing, is what the composer wanted to describe with this work.

There is no definite programme to this piece. Our imaginations being as unique as individuals are, the music does not follow a given path but tries to suggest a whole range of ideas through a very contrasted style of writing, in order to let the audience put together their own visions.

The orchestration is of the same sort: sometimes very clear and precise, it becomes much more intricate and of a somewhat impressionist nature in other parts. Throughout the piece, many different kinds of visions are thus evoked, bringing us from mystery to sarcasm, from serious to madness, from sadness to joy, from darkness to tenderness and finally from enthusiasm to triumph.

Return to previous page